Foodie Friday: Smoothie Bowl

Back to the healthy stuff. πŸ˜‰

Many people opt for a smoothie or pressed juice drink in the morning when they are trying to get fit and lose weight. I have tried it and realized it isΒ notΒ for me. Not all the time, anyway. I need to physically chew food in the morning just to feel like I’m going to be full or satisfied. I guess it’s a psychological thing.

Lately, the only smoothies I have had are the ones from theΒ store (Bolthouse, Naked, Odwalla) and even those wereΒ far and few between. Almost out of nowhere, I start hearing about smoothie bowls. I’m almost positive these things have been out for years and I am just late. What is a smoothie bowl, you ask (if you are clueless like I was)? Essentially it is what it sounds like: a bowl filled with a smoothie.

You make a smoothie with the normal ingredients but blend it a bit thicker in a yogurt consistency. Add toppings like granola or leftover fruit and eat with a spoon. πŸ™‚

Here’s a helpful infographic from Hello Glow on making a smoothie bowl:

smoothiebowl-helloglow

Sounds easy enough, right? I really like how the site breaks down the nutrients of each layer. Mind Body Green is another great health site that features other smoothie bowl recipes like these:

mbg_smoothiebowls

Don’t these look more filling than a drinkable smoothie? Maybe it’s the artsy girl in me and the colors make it more appealing to eat? I can look forward to having these throughout the day!

Have fun produce shopping this weekend! πŸ˜‰

Need more recipe ideas? Come back every Foodie Friday for a new one to try!

One thought on “Foodie Friday: Smoothie Bowl

  1. Pingback: Foodie Friday: Fruit and Wine Sorbet | niecynotes

Leave a Reply

