3 Exciting Spring Events in Philly

This year, I made a goal to attend at least three different Philly events each season in order to learn a little bit more about my city. So far, I went to the Center City Restaurant Week back in January and the Philadelphia Auto Show (actually twice, per my young nephew’s request) in February. Thus, my winter events are basically covered. Now onto fun springtime events! I have a few in mind that I found on a list of the 50 Biggest Events via Visit Philly:

Philadelphia Flower Show (March 5 through 13)

flowershow-r-kennedy-900vp

Philadelphia Flower Show (Image: VisitPhilly.com)

I love flowers and the Flower Show is definitely full of them! This is the 188th year of the event and this year’s theme is “Explore America: 100 Years of the National Park Service.” So each exhibit area will feature a popular park like the Yellowstone National Park and even the local Valley Forge State Park. Click here for ticket and time information.

The Science Behind Pixar at The Franklin Institute (March 12 through September 5)

thesciencebehindpixar-toystory-franklin-institute-900vp

Pixar Exhibit at the Franklin Institute (Image: VisitPhilly.com)

You all know I love art but you may not know that I am a big Toy Story fan. Yes, I saw all three and will see Toy Story 4 when it comes out. In the meantime, I can get my fix visiting the Franklin Institute and checking out this exhibit. It will discuss the scientific and technical aspect of the Pixar process (claymation, set designs, etc). Here’s more info if you want to visit!

Philadelphia International Festival of the Arts (PIFA) (April 8 through April 23)

My artsy people – this is for us! A huge celebration of arts from the Delaware River Waterfront to Broad street – live performances, theatrics and visual arts galore. I’m telling you, this is huge and it gets pretty packed quick! Get more info about tickets and dates here on their site.

These are just a few of many events happening over here. If you would like to take a trip to Philadelphia, don’t forget to grab a free water ice from Rita’s on March 20th. 😉

Enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “3 Exciting Spring Events in Philly

  1. Wow! I’ve never been to the Flower Show and I’ve lived here for more than 30 years. I can go to the Franklin Institute with DJ. But the April arts festival is something I can’t miss.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

