Summertime Motivation: Philly Trails

Hello everyone!!! Geez, I can’t believe it’s been a little over a month since the last post! Summertime is always a busy season for me and I am sure it is for you as well. I appreciate all of you who follow the blog, especially the newbies during my mini hiatus. πŸ™‚

During the past few months, I’m noticing that more and more people have FitBits. If you have been stuck under a rock, aΒ FitBitΒ is a fitness tracker for tracking steps, calories, heartrate, sleep and much more.Β So what’s with the FitBit craze? Maybe…

  • The curiosity of the number of steps taken per day?
  • The weight loss effects?
  • The motivation of exercise?
  • The “friendly” competition it features?

Well, all of the above appeals to me!

I don’t have a FitBit yet, but I have been looking into getting one really soon. I narrowed down to the FitBit Flex, which is cute, thin and seemingly inconspicuous. I can also change the band to match my outfits. πŸ˜‰

FitBit Flex

FitBit Flex

I also like the FitBit Charge, which looks like a watch. Although it displays more information, I feel like I would check my progress every two minutes (no, I’m exaggerating – I’ll check it every two seconds).

FitBit Charge

FitBit Charge

With the Flex, I’ll have it on and forget all about it as I move along with my day. Do you have a FitBit preference?

Doing research about the FitBit really got me excited about walking more! It may sound silly, but since I’ve been driving more, I feel like I’ve gotten lazy to walking. I grew up walking everywhere as a “SEPTA baby” – taking the buses, trains and trollies! My endurance levels were high! Now if I were to see a bus/train/trolley at the stop with time to “run for it,” most times I’d just do what the older ones do: flag it off and sayΒ ‘I’ll wait for the next one.’Β Tsk tsk tsk…

Happy Trails to You – Where to Go
Cobbs Creek Parkway

Cobbs Creek Trail

Cobbs Creek Trail from 63rd Street View (pic via PlanPhilly)

I live right near a walking trail called Cobbs Creek Parkway. It is a 2.5 mile stretch which is pretty cool to have in a residential neighborhood. It goes from 70th Street (Southwest Philadelphia) to 63rd and Market (West Philadelphia turning to Delaware County). There’s even a small trail inside the wooded area of the parkway. In the morning, I see young and old walkers, joggers, bikers and dogwalkers going down the paved path. Each time I tell myself ‘Ooo I want to do that one morning…ifΒ I get up early enough.’Β See my problem? Those darn excuses lol.

Cobbs Creek Parkway is also connected to a bike path that leads to this next trail…

Schuylkill River Trail

Schuylkill River Trail

A Portion of the Schuylkill River Trail in Philly (via @schuylkill_river_heritage on Instagram)

Schuylkill River Trail is the most popular trail in Philly. It even received national recognition as the Best Urban Trail by USA Today and 10 Best. It stretches for 26.5 miles throughout Philadelphia and surrounding suburbs like Valley Forge and Conshohocken. A person can bike, walk, dogwalk, rollerblade and jog through this. Most of the trail is paved though there is a caution to wear bright orange in wooded areas to alert hunters. Back within city limits, beautiful skyline views can be found at the Center City and Kelly Drive points.

Don’t these trails sound fun? I am confident I would get a bunch of steps walking these trails with my future FitBit! But don’t worry – I promise not to wait until then to get moving. πŸ˜‰

One thought on “Summertime Motivation: Philly Trails

  1. Pingback: FitBit Chronicles: Part I | niecynotes

Leave a Reply

