When Life Gives You Bananas…Make Banana Bread!

For the last couple of weeks, I’ve been going banana bread crazy! It all started when one of my friends gave me a banana on its way to being overripe. I’m not much of a banana fan but I took it anyway.

Days later, I forgot about it on the kitchen table and the banana is way overripe. Of course when I see this, it’s morning time and I’m on my way out the door. I glanced back at it and thought “hey that can be good for banana bread! I’ll make it later when I get home.”

10:30 P.M., Same Day
I was on my way upstairs to bed and saw the banana on the counter. Ugh! Forgot to make that banana bread! Being the INFJ perfectionist who must complete things, I opted to make the banana bread and justified “having it for breakfast” the next morning.

I grabbed my tablet to find a quick recipe and found this one by The Clever Carrot.

Yes! Now let’s see if I had the ingredients. I had everything EXCEPT an extra banana, wheat flour, white sugar and vanilla. Really?? How did I even run out of sugar and vanilla? That should be a baker’s sin!

My half-sleeping mind had to grab for a solution. Ok I have one large overripe banana, brown sugar and plenty of all purpose flour. Brown sugar has molasses in it so that could make up for the lost vanilla. I can substitute the wheat flour for all purpose. And I just have to work with just one banana. Oh and it’s too late to think about making a Greek yogurt frosting right now. Alright, plain banana bread plan is set!

So I altered this recipe a bit to create this loveliness:

image

My Banana Bread!

Isn’t it pretty? And it was so moist from the eggs and brown sugar. Oh and it was so sweet! Needless to say, I only had a little bit for breakfast the next day.

Since that one loaf of banana bread was made, I’ve got more overripe bananas and made four other loaves since. I gave some away and kept some for home. I did buy white sugar but I continued to use brown sugar only for this recipe. I still haven’t bought any vanilla extract either lol.

Here’s my rendition of the Banana Bread recipe, inspired by The Clever Carrot:

Tools Needed
9×5 inch loaf pan
Measuring cup
Spoon
Fork
Oven
Cooling rack

Dry Ingredients
1.5 cups of all purpose flour
.5 tsp of salt
.5 tsp of baking soda
1 tsp of baking powder
1 tsp of cinnamon

Wet Ingredients
1 large or 2 overripe (brown or brown spotty) bananas
1 cup of moist brown sugar (light or dark)
2 eggs
1/3 cup of oil

How To Make It:
• Grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan with a capful of oil. Set it aside and preheat the oven to 350°. Mix all dry ingredients, in order, in a medium to large bowl. Set aside.

• Mash the banana(s) in the second medium bowl with a fork. Mash it until it looks like baby food. Add the rest of the wet ingredients and mix very well.

• Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and fold gently until dry mix is fully wet. Do not over mix or whip! Doing so will make the bread dense and tough.

• Add the new wet mixture into the greased loaf pan and bake inside oven for 50 minutes (60 at most). Check after 50 minutes if it is done by inserting a toothpick or clean fork through middle of loaf, making sure it comes out clean and not gooey.
• If it’s clean, it’s ready to come out and cool off on the rack! Cool off for 10-15 minutes and cut and serve.

See how much brainpower I had to use late that night for the first loaf? Whatever the case, it was worth the effort because it came out great! I may make one with walnuts soon, maybe even honey roasted? 😋 Try making this or the original recipe for yourself – bon appetit!

2 thoughts on “When Life Gives You Bananas…Make Banana Bread!

Leave a Reply

