Allergies…and a Temporary Remedy?

For so many years, I’ve been suffering through year-round allergies. It intensifies during the season changes. Ugh. It truly doesn’t matter what time of year it is – I’m sneezing, blowing my nose, rubbing my eyes and “scratching” my inner ears. And don’t let my sinuses get pressure because I am usually DONE for the day.

I also suffer with mild eczema and found out I’m allergic to dust, pollen and have a high sensitivity to cats! I like cats too…

image

I tried the usual over-the-counter medications, homeopathic meds and the Neti-Pot (which I haven’t used lately since it’s a really icky process). They helped, but never seem to last long. That’s when I was told by health enthusiasts alike (vegans especially) that I should limit or stop dairy.

To be honest, I cannot stop dairy so abruptly. I must have my eggs and cheese and yogurt and whipped cream for goodness sakes! I don’t fill myself with dairy everyday and honestly, I barely drink milk. However, I will opt for a test week with limited dairy and use almond milk products JUST to see if this dairy thing really affects my allergies.

In the meantime, I was inspired by another blogger, Raven Foodie to share a recipe to temporarily remedy the sinus situation. She posted a recipe to help the common cold. A friend of mine from New York showed me a similar recipe to help with my allergies, mainly to clear up my stuffy nose.

There’s really no name to it, but I’ll call it Homemade Lemon Ginger Tea.

HOMEMADE LEMON GINGER TEA
1 1/2 to 2 cups of water
• 2 inches of fresh ginger, sliced or chopped
• 1 lemon, sliced
• 1/4 cup of honey

So, you’ll add the water in a deep, medium pot. Add the ginger and lemon and begin to heat the water on medium for about 3 minutes. Add the honey. Stir. Always stir. If you taste-test it and feel you need more lemon or more honey, feel free to add it. Ginger can be a bit overpowering.

Continue boiling water until it’s all bubbly and steamy and the lemons lose their color/shape. Remove pot from stove carefully.

Now the tricky part.

When you pour the tea into a cup or thermos, BE VERY CAREFUL. I’d recommend you grab the pot handle with a potholder, slowly pour the tea into a thermos over the sink in case of spills. Then from the thermos into a mug. Rather be safe than have a stuffy nose and be scalded. 😕

Voilà! Now your nasal cavities will be free again, at least temporarily. Even while making the tea, the steam loosens your stuffy nose. And the mixture of fresh lemon and ginger will invigorate your tastebuds – well it does for me. 🙂

Anyone have any tips or knowledge about dealing with allergies?

One thought on “Allergies…and a Temporary Remedy?

  1. Pingback: Hibernation Mode | niecynotes

Leave a Reply

