Healthy Meal Tips from Brown Veggiemom

First things first, I am sooo not a vegan. Far from it, really. I’m pretty carnivorous.

However, I have tried some vegan and vegetarian meals and I approve. πŸ™‚ It took me a while, but I’m actually ok with meatless meals every now and then. Two caveats though: it MUST be flavorful and FILLING!

I cannot be satisfied with a kale/ spring mix/tomato/carrot salad with an ounce of olive oil dressing and be “good”. Now if you personally have that diet, I have all the respect; it may be delicious for you. For me? Nada.

I have a friend named Cherri. Who is Cherri?

image

This is Cherri – the Brown Veggiemom

The best vegan chef that I know! She has this knack for making vegan and vegetarian meals fun, flavorful and filling. Plus, she doesn’t force people to be vegan. She simply suggests ideas to make food more plant-strong.

For example, I am big on desserts. She made this loveliness of an Apple Crisp and posted it on her blog:

image

Apple Crisp via Brown Veggiemom

Here’s a tip explainingΒ the uses of various apples:

  • Pies: Granny Smith is the classic green apple that is crisp and has a tart flavor that stand up to baking.
    Other choices: Cameo and Winesap
  • Apple Sauce: Gala is mildly sweet with fragrant yellow and red thin skin.
    Other choices: Rome and Macintosh
  • Baking: Pink Lady – my second favorite, they are firm, crisp and have a sweet-tart taste the skin is pink with yellow
    Other choices: Pippin, Sierra Beauty and Granny Smith.
  • Cider: Fuji is extra crisp and both sweet and tart and have a flavor that most resembles that of freshly pressed apple juice.
    Other choices: Winesap, Jonagold and Gala
  • Eating: Honeycrisp is sweet with a touch of tart and amazingly crisp and as you can probably guess, my favorite.
    Other choices: Gala and Criterion”

Her blog is called Brown Veggiemom and it features various recipes, tips, meal revamps, help for families who want to be vegetarian/vegan and much more to live a fulfilling, healthy life.

No frills. Just healthy meals.

BOOM.

Check out her blog and the latest in her vegan living. By the way, she has a great interview posted with another vegan blogger, Brown Vegan.

So, what do you think about the vegan/vegetarian lifestyle?

5 thoughts on “Healthy Meal Tips from Brown Veggiemom

  1. Very nice niecynotes πŸ™‚ I also appreciate that Brown Veggiemom doesn’t force you to become a vegan. One of my favorite suggestions/recipe thus far from her blog is the over night oatmeal.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Foodie Friday: Vegan Black Bean Burgers | niecynotes

Leave a Reply

